Nominees for Citizens of the Year 2021

Published on Friday, 22 January 2021 at 1:21:55 PM

Katherine Town Council would like to invite the Community to the Australia Day celebrations to be held at Godinymayin Yijard Rivers Arts and Culture Centre on 26 January 2021. The free event will commence at 9:00am and include a citizenship ceremony, guest speakers, Citizens of the Year awards, a morning tea, entertainment and a fly over by the Royal Australian Air Force.


Each year Katherine Town Council invites the community to nominate individuals and groups for the Citizens of the Year Awards. These awards recognise individuals and organisations who lead as role models, have made a noteworthy contribution to the local community and who go above and beyond.


The awards include four categories; Community Event of the Year, Young Citizen of the Year, Senior Citizen of the Year and Citizen of the Year. Congratulations to the below nominees, with winners to be announced at the Australia Day Celebrations.

Community Event of the Year 2021

Darwin Pride Roadshow Katherine

Katherine & District Show Society

Katherine Regional Arts - Junk Arts Festival

KICS Literacy Festival


Young Citizen of the Year 2021

Leroy Gazey

Nathaniel MacKinnon

Skye Smallmon


Senior Citizen of the Year 2021

Bev Patterson

Colleen Wakefield

Donald Bruce Higgins

Valerie Smith


Citizen of the Year 2021

Annette Schefe

David Reed

Lauren Chapman

Trent De With


Katherine Town Council wishes all those who have been nominated the best of luck and thanks them for their contribution to the community.


More information regarding the event can be found on the Councils website.

Back to All News