Council Welcomes Two New Councillors

Published on Tuesday, 1 August 2023 at 2:37:54 PM

Katherine Town Council held a Declaration of Office Ceremony in the Civic Centre today for Peter McDougall and Kerrie Mott, who became Duly Elected Members at the By-election on 15 July 2023.  

The newly elected councillors filled vacancies created by the departure of two Councillors in February 2023.

“Katherine Town Council is excited to welcome two community-minded people who will join us as Elected Members,” said Mayor Elisabeth Clark.

“I would also like to thank all the candidates that had the courage to nominate for the By-election.”

The new Councillors will undertake training over the month and sit at their first Ordinary Meeting of Council on Tuesday 22 August.

They have a two-year term with Council, which extends until the next scheduled Local Government Election in 2025.

More voting analysis and outcomes information is available on the Northern Territory Electoral Commission website.


Back to All News