Media Release - Australia Day Citizenship Ceremony and Awards 2022 - 17 January 2022

Published on Monday, 17 January 2022 at 9:53:21 AM

As a result of COVID-19, Katherine Town Council wishes to advise the public that this year’s Australia Day Citizenship Ceremony and Awards will be by invitation only.


While we wish everyone could attend in person the safety of the community is of upmost importance. As an alternative the ceremony will be able to be viewed via live stream, more details on how to access this to come. Please keep a look out on our Website and Facebook page for more details.


Australia Day is a day to reflect, respect and celebrate the Australian spirit and the best of this country.


This year’s Australia Day Ceremony will see 18 conferees from 10 different countries become Australian citizens.


Citizen of the Year Awards will be presented with winners announced to recognise people or groups that have given back to the community and helped others through these difficult times. Congratulations to the following nominees:

Citizen of the Year Nominees

  • Trent de With
  • Kym Henderson
  • Kirsty-Anne Randell
  • Nicolle Gadd
  • Tammy Taylor
  • Christine Sutherland

Young Citizen of the Year Nominees

  • Leroy Gazey
  • Kial King

Senior Citizen of the Year Nominees

  • Denis Watson
  • Elizabeth Hart
  • Diane Krepp

Community Event of the Year Nominees

  • Dreaming Under the Sun – Long Table Lunch – Dolly’s Dream
  • O’Keeffe House Christmas Lights
  • NAIDOC Weeks Celebrations
  • Katherine Xmas Lights – Lindsey Street Complex


You will also hear from our Australia Day Ambassador Kyle Bambra; Arnhem Land’s Kyle Bambra mentors indigenous youth as part of the Balunu Foundation. He encourages them to give back to their communities while teaching them about their culture and choosing the right path in life.


Committed to becoming a qualified hairdresser, he’s currently completing his hair dressing traineeship. Kyle is already using his new skills to give back by travelling to remote communities and volunteering with not-for-profits to cut and colour hair for free.


Kyle was recognised for his efforts when he received the One Rail Indigenous Achievement Award at the 2021 Northern Territory Young Achiever Awards.

Back to All News